Platform 4 ‘Education – Society – Norms – Ethical reflection’ is part of the Future Concept of the University of Tübingen within the framework of the Excellence Initiative. This platform is intended to link the Tübingen Social Sciences’ and Humanities’ expertise into one competence network and, accordingly, is thematically and institutionally widely represented. It comprises members of the Philosophy Faculty, the Economic and Social Sciences Faculty, the Faculty of Law, the Protestant Theology Faculty, the Catholic Theology Faculty, as well as the Centre for Islamic Theology. Additionally, cross- and interfaculty institutions such as the Global Ethic Institute and the International Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities are also involved. Independent institutions such as the Knowledge Media Research Center are also participating.

 

Platform 4’s goal is to initiate new research directions that draw upon the variety of disciplines and interdisciplinarity and which are within the guidelines of the University of Tübingen’s application for Excellence: Research – Relevance – Responsibility. Accordingly, Platform 4 particularly values application-oriented questions with social relevance. Platform 4 can also access the strength of the Tübingen social sciences research especially for the comparison of social, cultural and religious-ideological systems and their influence on the development of social norms and ethical values. Furthermore, the Platform offers a place where principle questions of relevance and application-orientiation of sciences at the University can be reflected upon.

 

Measures undertaken include on the one hand appointing both junior and visiting professorships as well as junior research groups and on the other hand making ‘exploration funds’ available for identifying new topics which are orientated on the Platform’s scientific focal point and on possible links for further university and independent partners.

 

Platform 4 is underpinned by existing institutions and projects. The scientific processing of socially relevant topics has already been rooted in the teaching in the Social and Human Sciences at the University of Tübingen. In recent years, in accordance with the policy objectives of the Future Concept the University of Tübingen has actively strengthened the areas which develop new fields of competence, complementing the existing areas of research and teaching. With the assistance of the Innovation Fund and the 2012 development plans the Empirical Education Research, the Education Sciences, Sociology, Political Sciences, the Cognition Sciences and the Media Sciences could create innovative core areas with numerous new professorships. With these measures and the setting up of a Centre for Islamic Theology the University of Tübingen has demonstrated itself to be a Centre of Competence for social and human sciences with a considerable breadth of disciplines.

Platform spokesperson

Prof. Dr. Thomas Potthast

International Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities

Wilhelmstraße 19

D-72074 Tübingen

Tel.: +49-7071-29-75251

potthast[at]uni-tuebingen.de

Platform coordinator

Matthias Bornemann

International Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities

Wilhelmstraße 19

+49-7071-29-77982

matthias.bornemann[at]uni-tuebingen.de

Die Plattform 4 Bildung – Gesellschaft – Normen – Ethische Reflexion ist Teil des Zukunftskonzepts der Universität Tübingen im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative. Diese Plattform soll die Tübinger sozial- und geisteswissenschaftliche Expertise zu einem Kompetenznetzwerk verbinden und ist dementsprechend thematisch und institutionell breit angelegt. Sie umfasst Mitglieder der Philosophischen Fakultät, der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät, der Juristischen Fakultät, der Evangelisch-theologischen Fakultät, der Katholisch-Theologischen Fakultät sowie des Zentrums für Islamische Theologie. Dazu kommen über- bzw. interfakultäre Einrichtungen wie das Weltethos-Institut und das Internationale Zentrum für Ethik in den Wissenschaften. Auch außeruniversitäre Einrichtungen wie das Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien sind beteiligt.

 

Ziel der Plattform 4 ist es, neue Forschungsrichtungen anzustoßen, die aus der Fächervielfalt und Interdisziplinarität schöpfen und sich an den Leitlinien des Exzellenzantrags der Universität Tübingen orientieren: Research – Relevance – Responsibility. Dabei legt die Plattform 4 entsprechend besonderen Wert auf anwendungsorientierte Fragestellungen mit gesellschaftlicher Relevanz. Die Plattform kann zudem insbesondere bei dem Vergleich sozialer, kultureller und religiös-weltanschaulicher Systeme und ihres Einflusses auf die Entwicklung gesellschaftlicher Normen und ethischer Wertsetzungen auf die Stärken Tübinger geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschung zurückgreifen. Ferner bietet die Plattform einen Ort, in dem über grundlegende Fragen der Relevanz und Anwendungsorientierung der Wissenschaften an der Universität nachgedacht werden kann.

 

Als Maßnahmen wurden zum einen Junior- und Gastprofessuren sowie Nachwuchsforschungsgruppen eingerichtet und zum anderen werden "Exploration Funds" für die Identifizierung neuer Themenfelder bereit gestellt, die sich an den wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkten der Plattform und den Anknüpfungsmöglichkeiten für weitere universitäre und außeruniversitäre Partner orientieren.

 

Die Plattform 4 stützt sich dabei auf bereits bestehende Institutionen und Projekte. In den Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften der Universität Tübingen ist die wissenschaftliche Bearbeitung gesellschaftsrelevanter Themen bereits fachübergreifend in der Lehre verankert. In den letzten Jahren hat die Universität Tübingen ganz im Sinne der Programmatik des Zukunftskonzepts gezielt Bereiche gestärkt, die neue Kompetenzfelder in Ergänzung zu den vorhandenen Forschungs- und Lehrbereichen erschließen. Mit Hilfe des Innovationsfonds und der Ausbauplanung 2012 konnten die Empirische Bildungsforschung, die Erziehungswissenschaft, Soziologie, Politikwissenschaft, die Kognitions- sowie die Medienwissenschaft mit zahlreichen neuen Professuren innovative Schwerpunkte setzen. Mit diesen Maßnahmen sowie mit der Einrichtung eines Zentrums für Islamische Theologie hat sich die Universität Tübingen als sozial- und geisteswissenschaftliches Kompetenzzentrum in beachtlicher disziplinärer Breite ausgewiesen.

PNS 3 SYMPOSIUM

‘Post‐truth’ and a crisis of trust?
Perspectives from post‐normal science and extended citizen participation
“Alte Aula”, Tübingen
25th & 26th September 2017
Website

Plattformsprecher

Prof. Dr. Thomas Potthast

Internationales Zentrum für Ethik in den Wissenschaften

Wilhelmstraße 19

D-72074 Tübingen

Tel.: +49-7071-29-75251

potthast[at]uni-tuebingen.de

Plattformkoordinator

Matthias Bornemann

Internationales Zentrum für Ethik in den Wissenschaften

Wilhelmstraße 19

+49-7071-29-77982

matthias.bornemann[at]uni-tuebingen.de