Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine Tübingen

The Interfaculty Institute for Microbiology and Infection Medicine Tübingen (IMIT) was founded in 2009, merging the Institute for Microbiology (Faculty of Science) and the Institute for Medical Microbiology and Hygiene (Faculty of Medicine). IMIT is the first institute of its kind in Germany and comprises six full professorships, two associate professorships, two assistant professorships, and several junior research groups.


The IMIT consists of the following ten units:


From The Faculty of Science:



From the Faculty of Medicine:



From Faculty of Medicine and Faculty of Science:




IMIT is supported and evaluated by an international scientific board of advisors which convenes every other year.


Scientific Board of Advisors of IMIT

Prof. Dr. Volkmar Braun (MPI für Entwicklungsbiologie, Tübingen)

Prof. Dr. Wolf-Dietrich Hardt (ETH, Zürich)

Prof. Dr. Dr. Jürgen Heesemann (LMU, München)

Prof. Dr. Dirk Heinz (HZI, Braunschweig)

Prof. Dr. Hauke Hennecke (ETH, Zürich)

Prof. Dr. Andrei Lupas (MPI für Entwicklungsbiologie, Tübingen)



Prof. Dr. Ingo B. Autenrieth

Science Coordination Office

Dr. Dirk Kraus

Elfriede-Aulhorn-Str. 6
72076 Tübingen

Phone: +49 7071 29 82067

Microbiological Colloquium

Thursdays, 17:15 Uhr 

Find the program here