Doctoral programs

Doctoral programs generally fulfill the following criteria:

  1. They are part of a shared research context such as a Research Training Group, Collaborative Research Center or an interfaculty program.
  2. They ensure appropriate structures for research coordination, promoting scientific exchange and qualification.
  3. They offer a structured admissions procedure consisting of an application and selection process which considers the candidate’s suitability. 


Other names for doctoral programs include:

  • Graduate school
  • Research Training Group
  • International Research Training Group
  • Doctoral network
  • Ancillary project group
  • Research school


Information on specific doctoral programs at the University is given on the website of the coordinating faculty.

Important: Whether and when calls for applications for scholarships and positions are carried out varies greatly. Please refer to the program website for current information.



Faculty of Medicine


Faculty of Humanities


Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences


Faculty of Science


Faculty of Protestant Theology


Faculty of Catholic Theology


Faculty of Law