Research Group "Autophagy"

The research group "Autophagy" is headed by Prof. Dr. Tassula Proikas-Cezanne and focusses on the molecular mechanism of WIPI-mediated autophagy in health, disease and longevity.


Prof. Dr. Tassula Proikas-Cezanne

Independent Research Group Leader

Research Group "Autophagy"

Department of Molecular Biology

Interfaculty Institute for Cell Biology

University of Tuebingen

Auf der Morgenstelle 15

D-72076 Tuebingen, Germany


Tel: (+49-7071) 297 8895

Fax: (+49-7071) 29 53 59

eMail: tassula.proikas-cezanne[at]


Faculty member, International Max Planck Research School "From Molecules to Organisms"


Speaker of the new German-wide Autophagy Network: Studiengruppe Autophagie, Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie e.V. (GBM),


Featured in the journal "Autophagy"


Memberships: Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie e.V. (GBM), Federation of European Biochemical Societies (FEBS), International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB), Deutsche Gesellschaft für Zellbiologie (DGZ), Gesellschaft für Genetik (GFG), Deutsche Krebsgesellschaft (DKV)


Editorial board: Autophagy, Journal of Molecular Signaling



Lectures, seminars, practical courses for BSc (Biology, Biochemistry, Bioinformatics, Nanoscience), MSc (Molecular Cell Biology, Biochemistry) and medical students.


Teaching autophagy:

  • "Autophagy and Longevity", lecture and seminar series (every summer semester, 1x per week, max. 40 students) for BSc and MSc students
  • "Cellular Homeostasis: Autophagy, Apoptosis and Senescence", practical course with lectures and seminars (every winter semester, 2x 4 weeks, max. 40 students) for BSc and MSc students
  • Research and project modules (MSc students)
  • BSc thesis (max 4 students per year) and MSc thesis (max 2 students per year)

For more details please contact tassula.proikas-cezanne[at]



Proikas-Cezanne Laboratory

From upper left: Fenja Odendall, Leonie Gronbach, Ann-Katrin Thost, Daniela Bakula, Katharina Sporbeck, Theresia Zuleger. From lower left: Vivien Weber, Zsuzsanna Takacs, Dennis Schroth. Tübingen, September 2014.


Predoctoral student poster presentation at the 40th FEBS Congress 2015, Berlin, Germany

From left: Amelie Müller, Zsuzsanna Takacs, Ann-Katrin Thost, Theresia Zuleger, Daniela Bakula.

Berlin, July 2015.


Hosting our seminar guest speaker Professor James Murray from Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Tübingen, July 2015.


Theresia Zuleger was awarded a predoctoral fellowship sponsored by the LGF (Landesgraduiertenförderung) Baden-Württemberg, starting 01.10.2015. Congratulations!!!